The first records of the property, according to the Siena archivist, date back to 1692 when it belonged to a noble family, the Borghesi, who at that time owned most of the surrounding land in the surrounding areas of San Giovanni d'Asso and Monterongrifoli. In 1820 the property passed to the Marsili family and remained under their ownership until 1867 when it was sold to the Signori Meocci and eventually to the Linguanti family.
The Linguanti family undertook a complete restoration of the house, which had become run down under successive owners. This restoration restored the house to its former glories whilst remaining faithful to its noble and historic traditions.
Local legend has it that for the first half of the 20th century the house was occupied by "The Good Witch of Lower Ferrano", a seer whose predictions greatly aided the people of Ferrano (the name of the local hamlet) to live better lives.
The Linguanti Family
There are five members of the Linguanti family. The father is a specialist in the restoration and sale of antiques and works of art. The mother works in the field of agriculture. Their three children have their own careers as well as helping their parents run the family businesses. The Linguanti descend from a noble and historic Sicilian agricultural and seafaring family. They moved to Tuscany and the beginning of the 1900s. Their passion for history and antiques was what drove them to buy and re-structure old properties, and with their professional expertise adorn them with the typical furnishings and artwork of the period. By restoring them to their former glory and the period in which they were first built, as if time had stood still, will allow you to experience a tangible and lasting sense of times past. This sense will be especially profound given the pristine natural surrounding which the house finds itself in.